Mirage 28 feltham

The mirage 28 feltham is a 28.33ft masthead sloop designed by david feltham and built in fiberglass by thames marine (uk) since 1977..

The Mirage 28 feltham is a moderate weight sailboat which is under powered. It is stable / stiff and has a good righting capability if capsized. It is best suited as a coastal cruiser. The fuel capacity is originally very small. There is a short water supply range.

Mirage 28 feltham sailboat under sail

Mirage 28 feltham for sale elsewhere on the web:

review mirage 28 yacht

Main features

Model Mirage 28 feltham
Length 28.33 ft
Beam 9.25 ft
Draft 3.58 ft
Country United Kingdom (Europe)
Estimated price $ 0 ??

Login or register to personnalize this screen.

You will be able to pin external links of your choice.

review mirage 28 yacht

See how Sailboatlab works in video

Sail area / displ. 13.20
Ballast / displ. 39.86 %
Displ. / length 289.29
Comfort ratio 23.05
Capsize 1.95
Hull type Monohull twin Keel
Construction Fiberglass
Waterline length 22 ft
Maximum draft 3.58 ft
Displacement 6900 lbs
Ballast 2750 lbs
Hull speed 6.29 knots

review mirage 28 yacht

We help you build your own hydraulic steering system - Lecomble & Schmitt

Rigging Masthead Sloop
Sail area (100%) 298 sq.ft
Air draft 0 ft ??
Sail area fore 0 sq.ft ??
Sail area main 0 sq.ft ??
I 0 ft ??
J 0 ft ??
P 0 ft ??
E 0 ft ??
Nb engines 1
Total power 17 HP
Fuel capacity 14 gals

Accommodations

Water capacity 40 gals
Headroom 0 ft
Nb of cabins 0
Nb of berths 0
Nb heads 0

Builder data

Builder Thames Marine (UK)
Designer David Feltham
First built 1977
Last built 0 ??
Number built 0 ??

Modal Title

The content of your modal.

Personalize your sailboat data sheet

Paste a link here:

Give it a title:

And eventually a link to an image for the thumbnail:

I have been a recreational sailor for many years, with a particular interest in small sailing craft; therefore much of the content of my 'blog' will be related to this subject.

Wednesday, January 28, 2015

review mirage 28 yacht

No comments:

Post a Comment

Great choice! Your favorites are temporarily saved for this session. Sign in to save them permanently, access them on any device, and receive relevant alerts.

  • Sailboat Guide

Mirage Yachts Ltd

Mirage Yachts Ltd. was formed in February of 1972 by Dick and Irene Steffen, for the purpose of building the Mirage 24 designed by C&C. Up until this point they had owned a large volume C&C dealership in Point Claire, Quebec. At the time C&C did not build any model smaller than the 27. Dick was a very keen racing sailor and wanted a smaller MORC boat to both sail and sell from his retail dealership. At his request the C&C had designed a 24 footer, but C&C decided not to built it. Steffen then bought the design and set up his own shop on the second floor of a rented building in Point Claire, Que to build it. Sales of the 24 were gratifying and eventually 15 workers were busily turning out new Mirage 24’s. A lot of the reason for its success was based on its racing record in MORC class racing. Fifteen years after its introduction, a Mirage 24 placed #1 in the production-built division at the MORC national championships. The Mirage 24 proved so successful that an envious C&C shortly thereafter introduced the C&C 25, quite similar in design to the Mirage 24. Nevertheless, the Mirage 24 continued to sell very well and dominated the C&C 25 on the race course. When Dick then approached the C&C design team for a larger model and was turned down, he turned to designer Robert Perry for the new boat. In 1975, the plant was moved to a 12,000 sq. ft facility in nearby Vaudreuil, Que. The Perry designed Mirage 26 (later stretched to a 27) was introduced shortly thereafter. By 1979 the plant had grown to 30,000 sq.ft. with an additional 5,000 sq. ft. spar manufacturing facility in Dorion. Que. In 1983 the plant was again increased to 35,000 sq.ft. to accommodate the new Perry designed Mirage 33/35. The Bob Perry models were highly successful and the core of steady growth at Mirage for over a decade. Eventually the Mirage 26/27 was followed by the Mirage 33/35, the Mirage 30/32 series and the remarkable Mirage 25. Each of these models while remaining at the upper end of the performance scale, established the Mirage as a wholesome family cruiser. In the late 70’s the J/24 became the scourge of the race course. Seeing an opportunity opened by the interest in the J/24, Dick asked his old friend and Laser/International 14 designer, Bruce Kirby to design a new boat in this size range. The Kirby 25 was the result. Soon Kirby 25’s were pounding the PHRF and MORC fleets even worse than the J/24 did. When J/Boats introduced the J/30, Mirage unveiled the Kirby 30. which on the water rocketed right by the J. Ironically, J/Boats then introduced the J/29– a boat a whole lot like the Kirby 30. The modified Kirby 30, the Mirage 30SX remains today, a highly competitive PHRF or MORC rocket. In the mid-eighties the “French Invasion,” fueled by an advantageous exchange rate, amd minimal import duties was in full swing in North America, lead by Beneteau, Jeanneau , Elite, and others. The French boats sported avant garde styling and reasonable two stateroom accommodations, even in smaller boats under 35’. Sales of the Perry designed Mirage 30, (generally thought of as a superb sailing boat) were dissapointing. In 1985, Steffen looking to build a replacement model to the aging 27, asked several designers to do preliminaries for a 28 footer with a double aft cabin. The design submitted by Phillippe Harle’s was Steffens choice which became the MIRAGE 29 and was introduced in the spring of 1986. This model was an instant success. About 50 boats were sold before hull #1 hit the water and nearly three hundred were eventually built. The MIRAGE 275 and MIRAGE 39 followed, both also Harle designs. Not long after the introduction of the MIRAGE 39, Mirage Yachts Ltd. was sold to a Montreal investor who very shortly went out of business.

Associations

  • Bruce Kirby
  • C&C Design
  • Peter Schmitt
  • Philippe Harlé
  • Robert Perry

15 sailboats built by Mirage Yachts Ltd

review mirage 28 yacht

Mirage 25 (Perry)

review mirage 28 yacht

Mirage 27 (Perry)

review mirage 28 yacht

Mirage 26 (Perry)

review mirage 28 yacht

Mirage 30 SX

review mirage 28 yacht

Mirage 27 (Schmidt)

  • About Sailboat Guide

©2024 Sea Time Tech, LLC

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Yacht Brokers Boats for Sale Logo

Mirage 28 Boat for Sale

  • accommodation
  • mechanical and rigging
  • Manufacturer: Mirage
  • Location: Gillingham
  • LOA: 28'4" (8.64m)
  • Beam: 9' 3'' (2.82m)
  • Draft: 1.37
  • Keel: Fin Keel
  • ID no.: 38319
  • Watertank Size: 30 Litres
  • Engine Make: Yanmar
  • Horsepower: 16hp
  • Drive Type: Shaft drive
  • Fuel Type: Diesel
  • Fuel Tank Size: 25 Litres

Broker Remarks

1977 Mirage 28 The  Mirage 28  was an extremely popular fin keel family cruiser from the 1970s. The design of the interior utilises the available space very well. The boat benefits from 5’10” headroom in the saloon. The cockpit offers good protection, and the boat can be easily sailed short handed. A very well presented and well-equipped example of the  Mirage 28.  A 2013 survey report is available on request.

Accommodation

The  Mirage 28  offers 5 berths in 2 cabins. Fore cabin with double vee berth and stowage. Two single berths in the main saloon, a folding saloon table with seating for 4-5 people. Full width heads compartment with marine toilet (new) holding tank fitted but never used, wash basin and storage areas. Hot & cold-water system, water heated via a gas boiler.  Galley aft to starboard equipped with a gimballed gas cooker with 2-burners, oven, and grill (2009), sink, and stowage areas. 12v fridge, cutlery, crockery included. Quarter berth aft to port.

Mechanical and Rigging

Aluminium mast, Boom and Spinnaker pole. Slab main reefing and roller reefing foresail. Stainless steel rigging (1997) with quick release forestay. Roller reefing renewed 2006. Mast has Tabernacle lowering arrangement. 2 x Knowsely sheet winches, 2 x Simpson Lawrence Spinnaker winches.

Stacking system by Kemp. Sail area, 40.47 sq.m

  • 1 x Mainsail (Kemp 2004 excellent condition)
  • 1 x Genoa (Kemp 2004 excellent condition)

Maintained by Kemp on a regular basis

  • 1 x Tri Radial Spinnaker and snuffer
  • 1 x Storm Jib

The  Mirage 28  is powered by a 16 hp Yanmar 2GM (1990), last serviced by the owner 2019 new cylinder head complete, water jacket, thermostat, anodes and complete overhaul Dec 2012. Shaft drive to a 2 bladed fixed propeller in good condition, Rev counter, engine alarms and charging light. Last out of water maintenance 2018.

2 x 12V batteries, each 110AH 2013, charging from the engine alternator and shore power, installed ring main, plus battery charger.

  • 1 x CQR anchor 35lbs
  • Chain – 110ft
  • Windlass – Anchorman, manual
  • Blue sail cover
  • Blue Sprayhood new 2010
  • Named dodgers
  • Swim ladder  –  Removable, stainless steel
  • 4 x mooring warps
  • 4 x fenders
  • Deck lights
  • Cockpit table
  • VHF Radio – DSC
  • NASA Echo sounder
  • Garmin GPS with Log/Speed
  • Clock/Barometer
  • Navigation lights
  • Masthead Tricolour
  • Autohelm ST1000
  • 3 x Fire Extinguishers
  • Fire Blanket
  • Radar reflector
  • First Aid Kit
  • 1 x Lifebuoy
  • 1 x Danbuoy
  • 1 x Manual bilge pump
  • 2 x harnesses

The  Mirage 28  was built by Thames Marine, designed by Walsh/Wakefield. Hull blue, two pack sprayed by Gillingham Marina (2006), still in outstanding condition, white deck and super structure with grey Treadmaster deck. GRP construction, fin keel, with tiller steering and skeg rudder.

Contact NYB Kent

  • Address: Network Yacht Brokers Kent Chatham Maritime Marina Leviathan Way, Chatham, Kent ME4 4LP
  • Telephone: [+44] [0] 1634 571605 [+44] [0] 1634 571605 -->
  • Email: [email protected]

Disclaimer : Network Yacht Brokers Kent offers the details of this vessel for sale but cannot guarantee or warrant the accuracy of the information contained in the specification or warrant the condition of the vessel or equipment. A buyer should instruct his agents, or surveyors, to investigate such details as the buyer desires validated. This vessel is offered for sale subject to no prior sale, price change, or withdrawal without notice.

Enquire About This Mirage 28

Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)

Telephone (required)

Message (required)

  • Croatia North
  • Milford Haven

review mirage 28 yacht

  • Sell My Boat
  • NYB Group Offices
  • Become A Yacht Broker
  • Manufacturers
  • Privacy Policy

© 2004-24 Network Yacht Brokers

Log in or Sign up

You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly. You should upgrade or use an alternative browser .

Conversion of Mirage 28

Discussion in ' Boat Design ' started by countderek , Jun 14, 2013 .

countderek

countderek New Member

I have a Mirage28 cruiser which,due to medical problems I can no longer sail. She has a Yannmar 2GM 18 engine and bilge keels. I am interested on any thoughts/help/advice on making her a pure motor boat.:?:  

PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

Welcome to the forum. Remove the rig and enjoy. Her buttock angles are too sever for anything, other then the 8 MPH she's capable of. Leave the keels in place, as you'll need their weight to keep her on her lines. A hard or soft dodger at the companionway hatch would make powering along in less than ideal weather more palatable. I'd place the helm and controls on the cabin bulkhead so you can drive from under the dodger.  
Mirage 28 Thanks for confirming what I thought. Unfortunately she has a tiller helm which can be fixed to an auto helm unit and to convert to a wheel helm may be more trouble than it is worth. I plan to put in place a full wind shield and possibly some sort of cover over the hatch area or the full well area  
A tiller helm can be easily converted to a quadrant and cable pulley system. In fact, you can have both, with a tiller being backup if a cable breaks. A wheel setup isn't as difficult as it might seem. Cable routing is the usual difficulty, but with some thought, you can workout a solution.  
  • Advertisement:

Petros

Petros Senior Member

would it not be easier to sell the sailboat and buy a suitable motor boat? Sailboats have less than optimum accommodations to make them suitable as sailboats, a purpose built power boat would have more room, wheel steering and not have any bad habits that are caused by a hull design ill suited to power operation. Also, any permanent alterations to your sailboat will greatly reduce its resale value later. It seems to me, unless your sailboat has some overly sentimental value to you, sell it and buy something that is better suited for your current needs. If you do make changes to your sailboat, do them in a way that can be undone without much effort or repairs to the hull for any future owner to convert it back to sailing use.  

evansjhenry

RIB Conversion Plywood Sides

DogCavalry

Conversion of a Fish Farm WorkBarge to Accommodations

Vineet

Nahant dory lumber to plywood conversion

Forecaddie

Jet ski conversion to sail drive

James Wellington

fishing trawler to pleasure conversion

Kaaro

Conversion to gaff rig

Busanga

Osprey 24 Fisherman Pilothouse IO to Outboard conversion

dhk

Pontoon/houseboat conversion

Stefano Dilena

Plans conversion - Wood to PVC foam

Alex Clifford

Inboard to outboard conversion question

  • No, create an account now.
  • Yes, my password is:
  • Forgot your password?

Boat Design Net

Yacht Database

Boat type:
Category:
CategoryBoat type
Sailboat
Sailboat

Alternatively,

  • Register with Facebook
  • Register with Google

Why Boatshed?

View all of your boats statistics in real time

Create a virtual "watch" on boats you're interested in

Refer a boat and earn up to 20% of the brokers commission

Language & Currency

Search our catalog, go direct, enter a boat reference, antifouled july 2023, £ 12,450.00.

  • Boat REF#  ·  317343
  • Length  ·  8.64m
  • Year  ·  1980
  • Construction  ·  GRP
  • Underwater profile  ·  Fin
  • Sleeping berths  ·  5
  • Engine  ·  1 x diesel 16hp, Beta (2015)
  • Lying  ·  Gosport

Boatshed Portsmouth

Boatshed Portsmouth

  • Watch in My Boatshed
  • Print Print spec sheet Print Boat Photos
  • Specification
  • Additional Information

Extra Details

Designer David Feltham
Builder Thames Marine
Lying Gosport
Fuel capacity 50.0 ltr (11.0 USG) Total - 2 Tanks
Water capacity 150.0 ltr (33.0 USG) Total - 1 Tanks
Last survey 19/03/2021
Engine 1 x diesel 16hp
Engine make and model Beta (2015)
Engine Hours engine1= 194
Engine Cooled Indirect
Steering tiller
Drive shaft
Prop(s) 2 blade fixed (Rope Cutters)
Fuel consumption (approx) Not Recorded
Cruising speed (approx) 5 knots
Max speed (approx) 6 knots
Engine spares

There are two house/starter leisure batteries, 110ah each.

Length 8.64m
LWL 6.71m
Beam 2.82m
Draft Min 1.50m
Draft Max 1.50m
Displacement 3,000kg (6,615.0lbs)
Storage On mooring

Sloop rigged Selden Aluminium spars (2003) with Stainless Steel standing rigging (2003)

Reefing mainsail Crusader - Slab (2004) Lazy Jacks, 2 Reefs
Headsail Crusader - Furling (2004)
Other sails Cruising Chute ()

Sails valeted April 2021 Mast inspected 2022 Goose neck toggle and bracket replaced 2022 main halyard replaced

Electrical Systems

12 volt battery, 240 shore power voltage, 3 batteries charged by: engine, solar panels

Construction

Construction GRP
Underwater profile Fin
Finish Gelcoat finish

new water filters fitted & water tank/piping cleaned last season galley & heads water pumps replaced

v-berth hatch serviced, no leaks coachroof windows resealed

Accommodation

Total # of berths 5
No. of double berths 1
No. of single berths 3
Cabin(s) 2
Sink 1
Heads 1 heads (Manual)

2 burner propane Stove

Stove
Broiler
Oven
Sink
Cooler
Carpet
Cabin heating
Manual water system
Non-Smokers
Sail cover
Sprayhood
Spray dodgers
Rode
Fenders
Boathook
Swim Ladder
Instrument Covers

2 halyard winches 4 sheet winches 2 anchors (CQR) 40.00m of chain 40.00m of rode

Nav Equipment

Compass
Log
VHF
Barometer
Depth sounder
Radar Reflector

GPS, windspeed in place but need replacing. Both log and echo sounder need tuning

Safety Equipment

Carbon Monoxide detector
Life jackets
Life buoys
Danbuoy
Safety harnesses
Horn
Swim ladder

2 bilge pumps (2 manual / 0 electric)

new led flare in place

Broker's Comments

Great little pocket cruiser with a 2015 engine 194 hours on the clock! She is a tidy boat with a few little upgrades like the upholstery and she also has cabin heating.

These boat details are subject to contract. Note: Offers on the asking price may be considered.

Owners FAQ's

How long have you owned the boat for, why are you selling her.

change of circumstances

Where have you sailed her?

Please note this comments section is public . Please do not post your personal details here. To enquire about purchasing this boat, please contact the broker directly at [email protected] Please read our commenting guidelines before posting.

Get Access to More

View unlimited photos of every boat

Walkthrough videos

VR 720° experiences

Get notified of new boats of your interest

Personalised boat recommendations

Save boats to 'My Boatshed'

Samantha Cassell

Email
Cell

Cost Of Ownership

YBW Forum

  • Search forums
  • Practical Boat Owner's Reader to Reader

Cobra 850 and Mirage 28

  • Thread starter SailorAleksi
  • Start date 1 Feb 2020

SailorAleksi

Hello everybody ! New on the forum and about to buy my first boat, I am currently investigating the market of bilge keel boats. Not to start a debate about bilge keel versus others, I could find plenty of informations about the Mirage 28, but very little about her sister the Cobra 850. Therefore, if anybody has first hand information about this old boat, building qualities, sailing performance and so on, I'd be very thanksfull. Any informations, books, review, magazine, etc is welcome 'cause I really couldn't find much on internet. Thanks everybody ! Aleksi  

Well-known member

There was a series of articles about the cobra 850 in PBO,some chap lived aboard with partner seemed a handy boat.The Design who believe was the late David Feltham was very good at bilge keelers  

Elessar

SailorAleksi said: Hello everybody ! New on the forum and about to buy my first boat, I am currently investigating the market of bilge keel boats. Not to start a debate about bilge keel versus others, I could find plenty of informations about the Mirage 28, but very little about her sister the Cobra 850. Therefore, if anybody has first hand information about this old boat, building qualities, sailing performance and so on, I'd be very thanksfull. Any informations, books, review, magazine, etc is welcome 'cause I really couldn't find much on internet. Thanks everybody ! Aleksi Click to expand...

Dipper

David Feltham was a prolific designer. His work includes a range of Cobras and Seawolfs, Mirages, Snapdragon and a Prout catamaran. You won't go far wrong with one of his designs although many are now quite old and condition will depend on how they have been treated. A large number of Cobra 850s were built. I believe a lot went to the Mediterranean charter fleets. As such, they were competent cruising boats and, as has been mentioned, David Feltham was particularly good at designing bilge keelers. They won't excel at racing around the cans but will provide reasonable performance and a solid build. We have had several in our club over the years. I have owned a Seawolf 26 for around 20 years which gives you some idea of what I think of his designs.  

Thanks a lot for your answers everybody. Those are pretty much the infos I gathered about David Feltham designs. Solid, seaworthy boats, and reasonable performance at sail when it comes to the bilge keel. I'm planning a visit soon. Do you happened to know about some details I should pay special attention to ? If anybody has some articles from PBO mentionned earlier, that would be great !  

ghostlymoron

ghostlymoron

It's worth registering with Boatshed.com not least for access to their excellent photo gallery.  

Laysula

We had a bilge keel Cobra 850 some years ago, we thought that it was a bit of a slug to sail. A lot of them were home fitted out with varying degrees of ability They are now 35 years or so old so will be very long in the tooth as maybe sails and engines. Ours was fitted with a yanmar YSE 12 which was pretty agricultural and unreliable. On the plus side it was very roomy for it's size and several years of cruising for our family of four and sometimes 5 taking us from our North Wales base to the Isle of Man and Ireland. The twin keels were great for drying out on a beach or mooring. The Yanmar got replaced after a couple of years with a volvo 2020 which whilst a bit overpowered gave us a lot more confidence for getting back in time to get over the marina sill. We did shell out for new sails as well in the hope of a better performance but they didn't make much difference.  

Members online

  • Old.Bonezee

Share this page

IMAGES

  1. Yacht, Mirage 28 Mkii for sale from United Kingdom

    review mirage 28 yacht

  2. 1983 Mirage 28 Cruiser for sale

    review mirage 28 yacht

  3. Mirage 28 Sailing Yacht 28ft for sale from United Kingdom

    review mirage 28 yacht

  4. Mirage 28 Sailing Boat Yacht for sale from United Kingdom

    review mirage 28 yacht

  5. Mirage 28 1984 Boats for Sale & Yachts

    review mirage 28 yacht

  6. 1979 Mirage 28 Segel Boot zum Verkauf

    review mirage 28 yacht

VIDEO

  1. Fairline Mirage ‘Maggie May’ for sale at Norfolk Yacht Agency

  2. Mitsubishi Mirage G4 Likes

  3. Mirage 2700

  4. Mirage 28 MKII

  5. Mirage 236 on Lake Pleasant

  6. Project Mirage with Fincantieri Yachts 2018

COMMENTS

  1. Mirage 28 as a first boat?

    9,969. Location. River Hamble. Visit site. calvong said: Hi all! Am in Singapore and found for sale a rare (in these parts) 1979 mirage 28 that had been sailed all the way down from Belgium. Thinking of purchasing it as a first boat.

  2. MIRAGE 28 (FELTHAM)

    A boat with a BN of 1.6 or greater is a boat that will be reefed often in offshore cruising. Derek Harvey, "Multihulls for Cruising and Racing", International Marine, Camden, Maine, 1991, states that a BN of 1 is generally accepted as the dividing line between so-called slow and fast multihulls.

  3. Mirage 28 (Feltham)

    Mirage 28 (Feltham) is a 28′ 3″ / 8.6 m monohull sailboat designed by David Feltham and built by Thames Marine starting in 1977. ... The lower a boat's ratio is, the less power it takes to drive the boat to its nominal hull speed or beyond. Read more. Formula. D/L = (D ÷ 2240) ÷ (0.01 x LWL)³ D: Displacement of the boat in pounds. LWL ...

  4. mirage 28

    46. Location. West Mids/ North West. Visit site. I looked at the Mirage 28 but then decided on the Mirage 2700 ( a later model but about the same price) No regrets. A well designed and well built boat. Sails well and no problem with bilge keels. Might be worth looking at before you decide. Allan.

  5. Mirage 26/27/2700/28 Info required

    Mirage 28 good accomodation and weatherly boat. Mine was a bilge keeler. Reasonable performance. no real criticisms. A friend owns a 26 which is very similar below but shorter cockpit - he claims it is faster than a 28. Mirage 27 and 2700 are not from the same stable or designer. I believe they were built by Leisure and have a transom hung rudder.

  6. Just About Sailing March 2 2017

    Second March Video - a couple of days late. I thought I'd do a boat tour and also have a look at my efforts to reduce the power consumption by replacing some...

  7. Mirage 28 feltham

    The Mirage 28 feltham is a 28.33ft masthead sloop designed by David Feltham and built in fiberglass by Thames Marine (UK) since 1977. The Mirage 28 feltham is a moderate weight sailboat which is under powered. It is stable / stiff and has a good righting capability if capsized. It is best suited as a coastal cruiser.

  8. Mirage 28 and 8hp Yanmar : r/sailing

    My family owned a red Mirage 28 (Tudor Tinker) for close to 20 years. It had the original yanmar engine which I think was 8hp. Truth is it is underpowered compared to modern yachts but we never really had major issues with power. Good passage planning is essential though and there will be times when you just cannot go to certain places.

  9. Mirage 28 (Kelley)

    Mirage 28 (Kelley) is a 27′ 5″ / 8.4 m monohull sailboat designed by Bruce Kelley and built by Mirage Mfg. starting in 1980. ... The lower a boat's ratio is, the less power it takes to drive the boat to its nominal hull speed or beyond. Read more. Formula. D/L = (D ÷ 2240) ÷ (0.01 x LWL)³ D: Displacement of the boat in pounds. LWL ...

  10. Bill's Log: Mirage 28

    Designed by David Feltham, the Mirage 28 is a solid, well constructed Thames Marine production boat. A masthead GRP twin keel sloop, she is like a much larger version of Thames Marine's first successful yacht, the Snapdragon 23**, and of course, her accommodation is more commodious. With standing headroom throughout, and five berths, a full ...

  11. Mirage 28

    Thank you! We'll be in touch shortly. Tollesbury Marina, Essex 1978 Mirage 28 with 5/6 berths in 2 cabins and standing headroom. Yanmar 12hp diesel rebuilt in 2008. Much loved family boat - ideal for the East Coast, a perfect first boat! Built in 1978. GRP construction, with white hull and superstructure, twin keels, aft cockpit.

  12. Mirage 28 sailing performance

    236. Location. Cumbria. Visit site. My first boat was a Mirage 28 bilge keeler. She had plenty of room for a family of four as we were then and we spent a lot of time doing different types of sailing from club racing in the Solent to longer holiday trips to the west country, Channel Islands and Brittany. We sailed in some pretty rough weather ...

  13. Mirage Yachts Ltd

    Mirage Yachts Ltd. was formed in February of 1972 by Dick and Irene Steffen, for the purpose of building the Mirage 24 designed by C&C. Up until this point they had owned a large volume C&C dealership in Point Claire, Quebec. ... Steffen looking to build a replacement model to the aging 27, asked several designers to do preliminaries for a 28 ...

  14. Mirage 28 1977 Cruising Yacht For Sale in Gillingham

    1977 Mirage 28. The Mirage 28 was an extremely popular fin keel family cruiser from the 1970s. The design of the interior utilises the available space very well. The boat benefits from 5'10" headroom in the saloon. The cockpit offers good protection, and the boat can be easily sailed short handed. A very well presented and well-equipped ...

  15. Mirage Mirage 28 for sale UK, Mirage boats for sale, Mirage used boat

    Remarks : 1979 Mirage 28 for sale in Kent, must be sold by 20th June 2024. The Mirage 28 was a very popular twin-keel family cruiser for the East Coast from the 1970s. The design of the interior utilises the available space very well. The boat benefits from 6ft headroom in the saloon. Five adults can be easily accommodated around the saloon table.

  16. Mirage 28 MK 2

    Mirage 28 MK 2 for sale with Boatshed Lancashire - https://lancashire.boatshed.com/mirage_28-boat-306153.html Photos and video taken by Boatshed Lancashire

  17. Mirage 28

    15. Visit site. Hi all, Am in Singapore and have been looking to purchase my first proper yacht. Came across a 1979 Mirage 28 fin keel for sale for approx GBP 14k. There are very few classic yachts in the region at this price point and have been looking closely at this. A few questions that I'm hoping to get your help with:

  18. Conversion of Mirage 28

    Conversion of Mirage 28. Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by countderek, Jun 14, 2013. Joined: Jun 2013 Posts: 2 Likes: 0, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 10 Location: Isle of Wight countderek New Member. I have a Mirage28 cruiser which,due to medical problems I can no longer sail. She has a Yannmar 2GM 18 engine and bilge keels.

  19. Boat Reviews

    Boat reviews entirely based on the technical specifications, not flavoured by any persons opinions or preferences. ... Weather; Sign On / Edit; Sign Off; Webmaster; Contact us; Feedback; FAQ; Yacht Database. Search at boat type, category and length. Boat type: E.g. Maxi or just M: ... From: To: Width: From: To: Results 1-2 of 2. Category Boat ...

  20. 1979 Mirage 28, Conyer Kent

    1979 Mirage 28 for sale in Kent, must be sold by 20th June 2024. The Mirage 28 was a very popular twin-keel family cruiser for the East Coast from the 1970s. The design of the interior utilises the available space very well. The boat benefits from 6ft headroom in the saloon. Five adults can be easily accommodated around the saloon table.

  21. Colvic Countess 28 vs Mirage 28

    3,758. Visit site. jwilson said: Countess 28 a bit heavier, more traditional, Mirage lighter, more modern looking and probably a bit faster, especially as it has angled bilge keels instead of the Countess's vertical ones. Countesses can vary a lot from roughly fitted out to beautifully, as many (maybe most) were amateur fitouts from bare hulls.

  22. Mirage 28 For Sale, 8.64m, 1980

    Mirage 28 for sale | 8.64m | 1980 | 1x diesel 16hp | GRP Construction | Fin underwater profile | 5 berths | Boat REF# 317343. Selling . ... At all times, where the particulars herein give details of a new boat and/or a new boat to be supplied/built by a builder/manufacturer, or a boat to be chartered, via our introduction, we do not guarantee ...

  23. Cobra 850 and Mirage 28

    9,967. Location. River Hamble. Visit site. SailorAleksi said: Hello everybody ! New on the forum and about to buy my first boat, I am currently investigating the market of bilge keel boats. Not to start a debate about bilge keel versus others, I could find plenty of informations about the Mirage 28, but very little about her sister the Cobra 850.